Shorthand — Brendan Langen
Shorthand - Brendan Langen
Busy Bees – No.13
0:00
-3:00

Busy Bees – No.13

Behind the scenes of deliberately upending your life :)

This is another edition of one-take notes – like Shorthand’s version of post-its. Happy soon-to-be October.

Something no one tells you about getting married and moving across the country in the same month – you're going to be busy.1

So, yeah, Donna and I got married. It was amazing. Full stop. An outpouring of love and care from the people who mean the most to us, in a park in the place we fell in love. I couldn't have scripted it any better.2

Of course, that comes through some deep work to make it happen – both on our end and the wealth of hardcore supporters we have, namely my folks!

Donna documented the process here.

There's an artifact we spent a healthy sum of time on, as well. A pocket notebook that doubles as a mini book about how we spend the time. We had a blast making it, even amidst my perfectionist tendencies. Admittedly, I was hoping to turn this into a traversable online notebook by now, but...life.3

Because the second note is that it's officially over for us in Chicago in a mere two weeks. Wow.

The place I went from boy to man.4 I'll forever appreciate this city. My home. And my choice to leave.


And now, we go west. To Oakland.5 Fuck yeah.

See you out there,6

Bren


tunes wise, i’ve been on a talking heads binge. this one from 1980 has been a driving force as i’ve needed to get shit done. i so appreciate how funky it remains. just under 1 hour.


bonus - last weekend i saw nation of language (awesome.), and the occasional david byrne resemblance was a treat. see them live if you can.


Footnotes exist!

1

Yeah, yeah of course you’re right. I did this to myself.

2

Which is good! Had I scripted any of it, I imagine it would have not gone according to plan. Patterns are the way. Patterns kept us sane.

3

Finding a place to move across the country is a REAL LIFE THING, and praise be to the heavens that we have closed said search. Also, if you need to know anything about the Bay Area rental market, I’m your guy (for a large fee).

4

I had a very deep cry on the roof at halftime of the Bears game last weekend. Likely the first of many. I will never be back to this place (specifically, said home) I love. As great as moving on is, it’s incredibly hard to leave something you love.

6

Come visit for real. There’s a wealth to see, and we’ve seen none of it.

0 Comments
Shorthand — Brendan Langen
Shorthand - Brendan Langen
Shorthand/Longform - No compression without context.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Brendan Langen